Skip to main content
Okauchee Lake Yacht Club
Sailing & Racing Excellence Since 1936

About OLYC

About Okauchee Lake Yacht Club


The primary goal of the Okauchee Lake Yacht Club (OLYC) is to promote the sport of sailing and provide a social setting for those with a common interest of Okauchee Lake. OLYC is proud of the long history of developing quality racing fleets and sailors that are recognized as among the best nationally. The core of this goal is met by managing and supporting four primary racing fleets on the lake (C Scows, MC Scows, X Boats, and OPTI's). The Yacht Club also works closely with the Okauchee Lake Sailing School (OLSS) to provide fully staffed sailing classes to our youth sailors. In addition to racing, the club operates a fully functional clubhouse on the north shore of Okauchee Lake that supports social events for its membership throughout the year.
OLYC is a volunteer based organization and guided by the Board of Directors who oversee the operation of the club.  Contact any of the board members for more information on membership.


Founded in 1936, the Okauchee Lake Yacht Club has a strong history of leadership. Below are the past commodores that have guided our club:

1936-38 Herbert Paringer 1939-41 Herman E. Friedrich 1942-43 Frank Treis
1944 Herman E. Friedrich 1945-46 A.W. Esser 1947-48 A.W. Henschel
1949 Karl Otto 1950-51 R.L. Bischoff 1952-53 W.A. Voell
1954-55 William Frankfurth 1956 Phillip Krueder 1957 Robert F Stelter
1958-59 John Schueler 1960-61 Richard Harris 1962-63 Walter Schmidt
1964-65 Ross Prange 1966-67 Donald Millar 1968-69 Robert F. Stelter
1970-71 Charles Ritter 1972-73 Allen Prange 1974-75 Herbert Jensen
1976-77 King Harte 1978-79 Thomas Kay 1980-81 Mark Prange
1982-83 Robert Henschel 1984-85 Richard Smith 1986-87 Dick Friedle
1988-89 Ken Jones 1990-91 Jeff Millar 1992-93 Steve Schmidt
1994-95 Robert K. Stelter 1996-97 David Smith 1998-99 Tim Kay
2000-01 Robert Prange 2002-03 John Murphy 2004-05 John Baumann
2006-07 Mark Smith 2008-09 Peter Pakalski  2010-11  Alan Petelinsek
 2012-13 Scott Stetter  2014-15 Terry Brandl  2016-17 Susan Kay